Posted by: Rob | April 26, 2010

Visiting US states

I found this neat gismo on Vanessa’s blog:


visited 25 states (50%)
Create your own visited map of The United States

I was 29 years old when I first ventured into the United States of America.  Growing up in Canada, the impressions I had of the US at the time were largely that it was a “big, bad place” and one ought be careful there lest one become waylaid, attacked, robbed or killed. I still remember the strong feelings of paranoia I experienced as we travelled down (barely) into Washington state and across Idaho before returning to Canada on our way home to Calgary from Vancouver.  I think we spent the night in a hotel in Spokane, WA.  I don’t recall whether it a sleepless night or not, though.

Every state west of the Mississippi that I’ve been to has been by road, with the exception of California.  That’s a lot of driving.  I’ve spent at least one night in every state visited.

We lived in Kansas for about three and a half years (back in the early ’90’s) and I was on a start up assignment in Texas for about six months in 2002.  The rest of the time in the US has been largely of a vacationing nature.

I don’t know how many more of the states thus far un-visited that I’ll manage to get to before my time is up.  Tightening entry restrictions at the US border – both entering AND leaving – have made travel to the lands south of 49 much less palatable, for the most part.  I’m not getting any younger and I’m much less inclined to drive the distances that I used to.  Air travel restrictions, under the  auspices of “security”, have resulted in my own personal boycott of commercial airlines.

But, we have a new travel trailer that we need to get some use out of now, so time will tell.

Responses

  1. This country is so vast. You can travel for days and it’ll all seem the same. The accents might change slightly. I envy those lucky Euros who can travel less than a day and be in an entirely different culture.

  2. love the tool! found i’ve only been to 36 states (used your metric of staying at least one night).

    touring the US with a camper? we always loved the upper peninsula of michigan…. but you probably have more gorgeous, and remote, wilderness areas in your on part of canada.

    favorite car camping excursion EVER? atlantic provinces of canada. gaspe peninsula of quebec, new brunswick, prince edward island, nova scotia. amazing trip. 2 weeks in the minivan, living in a tent. we were pretty gamey when we got back, but it was phenomenal…

  3. Thanks for posting this. I’ve searched for a tool that actually maps where I’ve been (I’m at 24 with potential for three more this summer, but then again, I live here). I mapped my young daughter’s travels as well, and she also enjoyed seeing where she’s been.

  4. That reminds me, I haven’t played Risk in ages.

  5. i love the US, but have only been to a handful of states! It is one of the easiest places to travel on the planet and the people are great! Love DF’s road trip experiences, as a maratimer what is there not to love! Good luck on planning the next road trip!

  6. I live here, and I need to see more. I’d like to see the deserts.

    • Deserts are cool. Mind you it goes to the extreme in New Mexico. Perhaps it would have been better if I’d gotten off the interstate? Maybe explore Area 51?

  7. Come to Maine. We love Canadians.

    • Maine, eh? That’s kind of on the other side of the continent. But who knows? Maybe someday. Put us up, would ye?

      Do you know Stephen King? Could you introduce us? 8)


Leave a Reply

Categories

