Posted by: Rob | March 17, 2010

Sleep Interrupted

I awoke – instantly- in the middle of the night.  It was pitch black.  I don’t know what time it was.

The first thing to impinge upon my awareness was a light tapping.  Knocking.  Origin?  Unsure.  The ring of it sounded like my night stand.

Just as I began to notice how cold I was, I heard Ann say, “Oh.  There.”

I was uncovered so I pulled up the bedding as I rolled from my side onto my stomach.  Ann’s continued deep breathing and lack of further utterances told me she was still asleep.

I lay still, barely breathing.  Listening.

Was it perhaps BabyD at the door?  Lightly tapping to alert us to an emergency.

Minutes passed.  No further knocking.

Gradually, I drifted back to sleep.  Wondering.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

I told Ann about the tapping as I headed for the shower.  “Something weird” I said.

She knows.  She’s heard it before too.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Helping with dishes after supper, I pondered the tapping incident from last night.  I thought about what Ann had said.  It’s not the first time she’s verbalized out loud something a spirit is speaking.

And then it dawned on me.

Could “Oh.  There.” actually have been “Hello there.”?

And, if so, who said it?

Responses

  1. That’s nice. I channel dead people in my sleep. Great.

    You forgot to add how I felt a cold draft blow over me when I drove into yoga training on Saturday. It was at the first big turn – the one by the giant bat, which if I’d have missed, I’d have been hooped? – anyway, I am turning and it gets cold. The seat heat is on, the heater is blowing and it’s an arctic draft right across my arms.

    “What the hell?” I said this aloud. “I know I’m supposed to turn here.”

    It warmed back up. I am going to blame my dead spouse for that one because he never did think much of my driving and made fun of my relying on landmarks too.

  2. i’m a psychic deaf-mute, but i’d be outta there in a heartbeat if that happened to me… i’m a big ol’ chicken, even if the spirits are friendly, i’m not going to stick around…

    • Alas, I think that re-locating would do little good. It’s more about us than about this place, methinks.

  3. I do hope you say “hello” back…. chomping at the bit to hear who it is!!!

    • In all seriousness, the correlation is becoming disturbing as I found out not much later than a family member had died. The activity seems to always precede the news of a family member or friend’s passing.

  4. Sorry, Stephanie. No one ever answers.

  5. too spooky for me dude, better call the ghost busters, or get yer girl exorcised!

    • BB: I exercise her every chance I get. Oh, wait, you said “exorcise“….

  6. Oh, it’s not me. Last night, I heard a man speak my name not long after we’d gone to bed. Rob was already asleep and it wasn’t his voice anyway. This morning? Soft knocking on my side of the bed in the closet area and then I heard a voice say, “No.”

    Sometimes I will wake right up from sound sleep feeling as though someone is right at the foot of the bed. I just snuggle up to Rob until it passes.

    I expect the foot grabbing and feeling that someone has slapped the bed forcefully are not far off. It’s a pattern. Lights. Taps. Voice. Feet. Bed bouncing. And then quiet again for a while.

    The good thing is that our daughter is left pretty much alone. She hears her name being called on and off but assumes it’s us and she notices the lights. You can’t fool her about the lights. Once the basement stair lights came on after I’d shut them off and we were getting ready to head out to the bus,

    “Did you leave the light on, Mom?”

    “Oh, no. Well … maybe.”

    “No, you didn’t,” she said. “We live in a creepy house.”

  7. I can’t blame those ghosts dude…your wife is fine. No offence intended.

    • None taken.

  8. I do like hearing about such “visits” but admit I’m glad they don’t happen in my house. Once in a while I get an inkling that a spirit is closeby, but there’s never any noise, voice, or cold air ~ just a sense that something is paying attention.

    • Ah yes. The old “someone/thing is watching me” feeling. Know it well.

  9. What if we were to just accept that we sometimes brush up against other dimensions. Would it all be bad? Why do we think we are so powerless?

    • Thanks for stopping by and commenting. In fact, I accept that we do more than “brush up” against other dimensions, largely based upon personal experience. Powerless? Not at all. Blind is more like how I feel, lacking the skills to more effectively communicate.

  10. I like when you guys (you and Annie) write about these things. It makes me feel more normal, and lets me know that it’s not just me or my house- I live in a very quiet house these days, to me at least. My son gets the brunt of it, sometimes my husband.

    Anyway. Thank you.

    • You’re welcome Lora. And thanks for reading and commenting. Our episodes seem to ebb and flow. Currently ebbing.

  11. […] an impending cardiac issue.  But I now realize that, given the history of interactions we’ve experienced with those on another plane, I also missed the hints coming from the other […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

