Posted by: Rob | January 12, 2010

Clarity

Today saw a little bit of clarity.  I had previously written about one direction that I wanted my career aspirations to go, mostly to accelerate the retirement possibility from my current employer and enable moving on to something that more aligns with my (evolved) values and goals.  Not to mention being more fun.

Alas, I received word today that my chances for the sought after overseas assignment, that would have carried me through the next half-decade, have decreased to pretty much zero.

Receiving that news resulted in some mixed emotions.  I won’t lie.  There was a bit of relief.  With the current mess of the state of air travel, I was dreading having to get on an airplane anytime soon.  Plus, the final phase would have taken us to Saudi Arabia.  Not the most geopolitically stable part of the world, especially now that Yemen is a “hot spot”.

Another positive aspect is that we can take our lives “off of hold” and start making more concrete plans for the comings weeks and months.

But, this also means that I need to start “gaming the system” a bit in order to get us to where we want to be.  Sooner, hopefully, rather than later.

Responses

  1. Gaming the system is a hell of a lot better than upsetting your life in Saudi Arabia. And air travel is going to be a nightmare for the foreseeable future. So.

    • Gaming the system is hard work, though. And I have a great distaste for it. I hope none of it sticks to me as I wade in.

  2. It’s always good to get clarity – or closure. At least you know where and what you’re heading into, not a bad way to start the year. And I agree that anywhere in the middle East may not be a great place to be, far to unsettled, stay home where it’s ’safer’. Good luck with whatever 2010 brings x

    • It may be that the “mythic” opportunity provided an excuse to not make future plans. It is sometimes easier to just “go with the flow”; planning and executing plans is hard work. I agree about the ME being an undesireable place to go, but I hate the idea that some sort of “fear” prevents me from doing something, anything really.

      Thanks for the well wishes. I think 2010 will bring what we make it bring us. We do, after all, have some influence on our destiny. At least, I sure hope we do!

  3. 7 years, 145 days (roughly) until i retire. goal: debt free. completely. i’ll be 55 and gone, gone, gone from the world of drones… probably good to get resolution so you can get your ducks aligned…

    i am not sure i’d move to saudi arabia in the current environment. and i’ve got a bit of ‘high risk’ tolerance…

    • You would so fit in over there. They’d chop your head off by the second week.

    • The world of drones. I marvel at the young people I work with who still buy into all those “quaint” ideas. I try to provide an element of reality, and really try to avoid “poisoning” anybody with my cynicism and burn-out attitude.

  4. now you’re free to pursue whatever with clear vision, not having that overseas gig peeking at your every move. good luck figuring out what’s next.

    • Well, yeah, except now there’s the spectre of a “China” project. Doh!

  5. I hear ya. I’m 7 years and 9 months from the end of my sentence, but I haven’t decided what I want to do after that.

    Saudi isn’t the most tolerant of locations. With their fondness for women who think for themselves, you’d probably have to keep several lawyers on retainer for Annie.

    • Doesn’t it suck that we have actually reached the age where we are in countdown mode? How did that happen? I’m sort of stuck in my current job because I’m so close to 50 and it makes a big difference in my pension if I were to leave before 50.

      I had been trying to get Annie fitted for a burka, but without much success.

  6. I guess I should start minding my P’s and Q’s around here. Based on the ‘days to retirement’ listed above at least. I’ve 22 years on the best of you. Let me know at which point I should start addressing you as M’am and Sir :p (and if you’re thinking cheeky git, it’s a sign …) :p ;p

    • Miss P, I would never think of you as “cheeky git”. Age is all relative and age is just a number. I like to consider people in terms of how much they have “evolved”, something I write about on occasion.

      BTW: what’s happened to all of the posts at your most recent blog? They’ve gone?

  7. may the force be with you!

    • The universe is always with us!


Leave a Reply

Categories

