Posted by: Rob | August 17, 2009

August 17, 2009 – Three Years

Today, the big girls and I shall again gather and share a picnic lunch at the Muttart Conservatory grounds near Shelley’s memorial bench to remember her passing.  The run up to this year’s remembrance has been less intense than the past two, although this could be due to my being busy and diverted with projects both at work and at home.  Or it could be extension of the dream I had about a month ago.

I have been feeling Shelley’s presence less and less in the last year or so.  That’s not necessarily a bad thing.  As I said, I have been nearly fully occupied with the living of life, and that was something that she wanted me do.  She was, I think, afraid I would simply give up after she was gone.

But, now and then, she does let me know that she is still around.  At least a part of her is.  I was reminded of this as I sat at the dining room table a few days ago.  The blinds were up that day and I heard a bump at the window.  I looked over and, in the lush foliage of the lilac bush outside, I saw a yellow bird.

I smiled.

Responses

  1. You posted this under “grief.” That doesn’t sound entirely appropriate or accurate to me.

  2. beautiful!

  3. (((hugs))) That’s beautiful, Rob.

    btw, “Yellow Bird” has always been one of my favorite songs. I’m glad you saw a real one.

  4. *squish*

  5. Remembrances and signs…

  6. I smiled reading of you smiling, indeed beautiful.


Leave a Reply

Categories

