Posted by: Rob | June 15, 2009

Things that surprise you

Summer has finally arrived here in our neck of the woods.  Temperatures have finally reached what could be described as warm and are verging on “hot”.

As such, I was able to open the sun roof and the front side windows today when I left the site to have lunch with the wife.  Of course, the experience of driving with all the windows open is enhanced by the addition of loud tunes.

The wife was waiting at the river look out and a smirk came over her face as I rolled up with Shake That by Eminem & Nate Dogg blasting out the sun roof.

After lunch, on the drive back to the site, I dialed up Tool’s 10,000 Days on my iPod.  Upon reaching the security gate Jambi was in full heavy metal instrumental swing and at maximum volume.

The gal minding the security gate mouthed something as I swiped my badge.  She’s probably about my age and as I turned the volume down to hear her she said, “Who is that?  Tool?”

I was stunned.  “You’re right!”

All things considered, I would never have expected her to know anything about the sound coming from my vehicle.

She said, “Turn it back up.”

I obliged and drove on into the site.

Responses

  1. TOOL is awesome.

    • Yep.

  2. Most of the folks minding the gate in my world are 18-22 year olds… with a strong country and western bent. i politely turn down The Killers and Offspring as i roll through…

    • Man, where do you work? In Hicksville? 18-22 year olds listening to – preferring – C&W? The world truly has gone mad.

  3. People will surprise you. I’m sure it’s no surprise to you that I don’t know who you are talking about.

    • I’d post a youtube link, but you’d probably just tell me it sounded like cats dying or some such. 😉

  4. You know summer has arrived in New York City when your underwear is sticking to your ass.

    • Now, that sounds comfy. 8)


Leave a Reply

Categories

