Posted by: Rob | June 5, 2009

15 Books – In no particular order

I was tagged for this on Facebook by daisyfae and now annie has a post on it too.

The rules:

Don’t take too long to think about it. Fifteen books you’ve read that will always stick with you. First fifteen you can recall in no more than 15 minutes. Tag 15 friends if you like (I won’t) and post in the comments or link back here with your 15 (if you haven’t done this already) if you like.

For my list, this is essentially a stream of consciousness thing….

1.) Incident at Hawk’s Hill by Allan W. Eckert

2.) Black Beauty by Anna Sewell

3.) The Adventures of Huck Finn by Mark Twain

4.) Two Years Before the Mast by Richard Henry Dana, Jr.

5.) Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare

6.) Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

7.) Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury

8.) Catch-22 by Joseph Heller

9.) Luke Baldwin’s Vow by Morley Callaghan

10.) The Gunslinger (Book I of the Dark Tower series) by Stephen King

11.) I, Quantrill by Max McCoy

12.) Lisey’s Story by Stephen King

13.) Dune by Frank Herbert

14.) Childhood’s End by Arthur C. Clarke

15.) Starship Troopers by Robert A. Heinlein

16.) Who Has Seen the Wind by W.O. Mitchell

17.) Call of the Wild by Jack London

I think I could go on for quite awhile if I let my stream of consciousness have free rein.  But I won’t subject you to that.  I’ll stop here.

Responses

  1. I loved Black Beauty but technically I didn’t read it. My grade two teacher, Miss Barth, read it to us.

    Did you realize you have two #5’s? Very different ones. I would what Freud would think?

    • Two #5’s?? What would Freud think, indeed?

      I fixed it. Thanks!

      8)

  2. fareinheit 451 is probably one that should have made my list… but it was stream of consciousness and all that…

  3. Do I detect a little sci-fi, horror trend here? Somehow I’ve missed a lot of classic books of this genre.

  4. Rob – I didn’t want to fill up Alicia’s comment box…Yes Amok is about the WWII Japanese Imperial Army hold out. Very action/adventure. 2 more I wanted to add:

    Lord of the Flies by William Golding
    Captains Courageous by Rudyard Kipling

    All the best,

    jrc

  5. Shakespeare’s Othello was number 16 on my list.

  6. No Louis L’Amour? How disappointing 😉

  7. […] June 7, 2009 Via Rob. […]

  8. WOW Rob–I am keeping this list. Though I have read a few there are many I have not…now to add to my list. Thanks

    • You’re welcome! Glad you enjoyed my list.


Leave a Reply

Categories

