Posted by: Rob | April 24, 2009

In Remembrance – Grandma Bue

I was going through some papers a while ago and I found this poem written by my first wife Shelley in memoriam for her grandmother, Linda Bue.  I was fortunate to meet (and somewhat obtain the approval of) Grandma Bue.  The first time was when I attended a family Christmas dinner at the Bue farm in the Valhalla area of northern Alberta.  Not being of Scandinavian extraction, it was also my first (and last) meal that contained the dreaded lutefisk.

Grandma Bue was Shelley’s favourite grandma and, I suspect, Shelley was Grandma Bue’s favourite grand-daughter.  Her advice to Shelley was to live with a prospective husband for a while, a year or two, before committing to marry him.  Shelley heeded that advice but, in so doing, her grandma missed our wedding as she passed away on April 24, 1981 about three months before our wedding.

We were married in a civil ceremony at Grandma Bue’s farm and I’m sure that Grandma Bue was there in spirit, smiling down on us on that blisteringly hot July day.

This poem of remembrance  was written by Shelley on the occasion of Grandma Bue’s passing twenty years later in 2004.  There’s no title on the paper, just the verse:

Years fade not the memories nor the sadness

we all share.

Those who love you, miss you and always will.

Forever we will care.

Certain memories can stop me in my tracks

A sight, or sound, or smell

Will send my mind rushing back

To the years I loved so well

Geraniums on the window sill

Fresh linen from the line

Strong coffee on the stove top

Pillow slips stitched YOURS and MINE

Don Messer and Dallas on TV

Strangers welcomed for a meal

Stray cats fat on bread and milk

Fresh berries from the field

These memories always make me smile

With a touch of sadness, too

Though twenty years have passed us by

We still very much miss you

An original poem by Shelley Bibby.

Responses

  1. very sweet… she sounds lovely. except for the lutefisk. blechhh…

  2. It’s so nice to have those memories, and to write about them.

    Lutefisk is why I don’t go to the Ballard section of Seattle very often. I’m afraid those Scandahoovians will make me eat it.

  3. Hmm. I agee with silverstar. The grandparents on both sides of the family passed on the summers my folks were 11 and 13 respectively, so never got to know any of them, other than as disjointed sepia shadows in old pre-war photos. It must be nice to be able to lay claim to memories like this.

  4. Lovely, and Don Messer, brings back memories of my own grandmother… I guess she could not find anything that rhymed with lutefisk!


Leave a Reply

Categories

