Posted by: Rob | April 6, 2009

The Revelstoke Lodge

My nephew was getting married the last weekend in March.  He is an adventure sport enthusiast and has managed to find a way to make a living in this recreational field.  He and his intended have been residing in the Revelstoke area for the last several years and this is where they decided to get married.  On a mountain top, no less.

In setting up for the wedding, they reserved blocks of rooms at a couple of the local inns to accommodate their out of town wedding guests.  I had waited until the last minute to confirm that we would be going and thought we might have a difficult time finding a room.  I used expedia.ca initially to survey what was available and the search results were disappointing.  Both for a lack of availability (it is the tail end of ski and snowmobile season, after all) and for a lack of quality.  I went back to the drawing board and arranged for a couple of rooms at the Revelstoke Lodge, one of the two inns where the bridal couple had rooms set aside.

We arrived on Friday night just before the office closed.  Luckily, we had “gained” an hour travelling from Mountain time into Pacific time after dawdling a bit along the way to allow the older daughters to catch up.  It had been a long day, though, and I was looking forward to getting a good night’s sleep in preparation for the events the next day.  Sadly, it was not to be.

I parked the truck and grabbed a load of luggage and headed up to open up the room.  BabyD was asleep in the truck and the second trip would be to carry her up to the room.  My old BIL, also named Rob incidentally, was sitting outside having a smoke.  He had the room next to ours.  We exchanged a greeting and a hand shake and I moved off to open up our room.  I slid the keycard into the lock, the light went green and I swung the door open.  I was greeted by a wall of heat so intense I thought I just opened the gates of hell itself.

I started to panic.  Racing through my mind were thoughts of, “the office just closed”, “I’ll never find another room at this time of night”, and “WTF?!?”.  I hit the light switch, dropped the luggage I’d brought up and zeroed in on the heater controls.  Some sadist had left the thermostat at maximum and the fan on high.  For how long, I have no idea, but I would guess it was all day.

The thermostat itself had obviously been monkeyed with as the cover came off in my hand when I touched it.  I spun the setting wheel to minimum and clicked off the fan.  The heat was electric and the element continued to give off heat.  I could feel it radiating out when I put hand up to the grille.  Now what?

I went back down to the truck and communicated the situation to Ann.  BIL Rob offered help and I accepted.  We had BabyD and the luggage in the room in short order.  But the room was sweltering.  I looked at the heater controls again and finally had to simply conclude that the heater was shut off.  The front window was operable and had a screen.  We opened it wide.  There was another window on the back side, in the bathroom, and even though it was sans screen, we opened it wide too, trying to get a cross draft, breeze, anything to help cool things down.

Smoking is not permitted in the rooms and so, unfortunately, the narrow deck running along the second floor is where smokers congregate to indulge their habit.  And the second hand smoke came streaming in our open front window.  Choke or boil?  We chose boil and shut the front window.

We tried to get some sleep that night with limited success.  When the heat became too much to endure, we’d open the front window a crack.  But eventually, cigarette smoke or loud talking or the sounds of shunting trains or the booms of avalanche cannons would force us to shut it again and again.  By morning, things were quiet, cooler and a little more conducive to sleeping.  Except it was light out and the draperies not of the room darkening variety.  BabyD awoke so we all got up.

I mentioned the heating issue to the desk clerk in the morning but my story elicited little in the way of sympathy or pity.  “Just open the windows and get a cross breeze going.  That’ll cool it off.”  Yeah.  Thanks.  For nothing.

The second night was a bit better.  It was certainly cooler.  I returned from the wedding celebration a little after midnight and all was good until the gang from the wedding (yes, the same wedding I was at) arrived back at the motel after things wound up at the hall.  There was enough noise and it was prolonged enough that it cut into our sleep a fair amount.  Not as much as the first night, but enough to avoid making any sleep catch-up headway.

The Lodge is a typical mountain motel, I suppose.  Not a chain so they have no standards but their own.  The rates suggest to me that the clientele is not going to be upscale and from what I observed, it’s not really a family motel.  But if I’m ever back in Revelstoke I might not find anything better, so I can’t absolutely say I would never stay there again.  I wish I could though.

Responses

  1. That’s some vacation. It sounds one rung up on the comfort ladder from camping. I think I went camping once when I was a teen. That was enough for me. Now, “roughing it” for me is black and white TV. Hope it wasn’t too expensive.

  2. ack – i’m spoiled from business travel. have stopped for short stays in a TraveLodge, Motel6 and the like and generally have no problem so long as the sheets are clean and everything in the room works… but i’d have probably gone batshit crazy there…

    extended family + vacation = AAAAAAAAAAAAARGH!

  3. This is why they say travel expands the mind – it makes your head explode.

  4. Reminds me of that Eagles song. You can check out, but you can never leave … 😦


Leave a Reply

Categories

