Posted by: Rob | March 15, 2009

Spam – Installment 1

We all get a lot of spam.  In e-mail, in blog comments, it’s entirely too ubiquitous.  Sometimes I wonder why someone would figure it’s easier to sit down and send out millions of spam messages, hoping to reel in a handful of suckers, rather than going out and getting a useful, productive job.

This post is my inaugural, possibly recurring, salute to spam.  And by salute, I mean:

This one recently landed in the comments section of my blog and was handily seized by Akismet.  The machine translation into English is painful, but humourous too.

It comes from someone calling themself “LeDWineeriz” and this is what he/she had to say:

hi there
i poverty help ..
interest if any of you be versed arabic broadcast me what these website for .
every day they send email to me saying that i win laptop .
and they ask me round my close figures .

Then there is a line in arabic, followed by a website URL

Another line of arabic, followed by another website URL

And then the closing line

you r great ppl

With a line of arabic underneath.

I wonder if anyone helped them get that laptop.

Responses

  1. Possibly reoccurring? Surely this is a never-ending problem. You could revisit this subject in perpetuity.

    Gmail has a pretty good spam filter. I still get it (+/- 5 a day) but it’s all segregated into the spam folder.

    • Unbearable: Yeah, if blogging topics are thin (which doesn’t happen, actually) I might do more spam installments. But only ones that I find pretty humourous and/or ridiculous. I find gmail’s spam filter pretty good too; yahoo mail’s not so much.

      At the end of the day, I wouldn’t want to do a “spam blog” though.

  2. I occasionally get one in my inbox, even in gmail, but it’s easy to spot, and I send it to the spam report. It’s not nearly as annoying as it was in the early spam years when you didn’t even have spam filters, or had to set them up laboriously for each new address. And they were faster than you were. I love spam filters.

  3. Fake people with “alterior” motives are everywhere.

  4. Great site this tomeoftheunknownblogger.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

    • Hahahahahahahahaha! I have, of course, stripped your spam link from this comment. I find the irony hilarious that a post about spam should attract such a comment, machine generated no less and poorly at that.

      Pleamydayvand: I invite you to take a flying leap off a tall cliff.


Leave a Reply

Categories

