Posted by: Rob | March 9, 2009

Eh? WHAT?

From a freebie rag newspaper* that winds up in my mail box once or twice a week:

An elderly gentleman had serious hearing problems for a number of years.  He went to the doctor and the doctor was able to have him fitted for a set of hearing aids that allowed the gentleman to hear 100 per cent.

The elderly gentlemen went back in a month to the doctor and the doctor said, “Your hearing is perfect.  Your family must be really pleased that you can hear again.”

The gentleman replied, “Oh, I haven’t told my family yet.  I just sit around and listen to the conversations.  I’ve changed my will three times!”

* I use the term “newspaper” loosely.  It’s published by one of the big city local dailies and is targeted at the rural folks in the surrounding hinterlands.  It’s a collection of “human interest” articles, reprints of “author unknown” humour pieces, community notices and advertising.   Good for lining the bottoms of bird cages and compost pails.

Responses

  1. An oldie but a goodie, straight out of the pages of the Reader’s Digest. Reminds me of talking to my dad and his girlfriend, both of them deaf as doorposts. I hope Dad didn’t get new hearing aides, or I will be left out.

  2. used to have such a local rag… it was really just an advertising supplement. allowed the bigger paper to charge more for ads by claiming a massive distribution. even though birds were the primary audience!

  3. Silverstar beat me to it. This drips of Reader’s Digest homespun Norman Rockwell humor.


Leave a Reply

Categories

