Posted by: Rob | February 23, 2009

Idaho Falls

On this date two years ago, at 7 o’clock in the morning, I was leaving my sister’s place in Chestermere, just outside of Calgary. I had driven down the previous evening in order to get a head start on the second leg of my journey for that weekend. It had been a hair-raising drive through blowing snow for almost the entire way.

The drive in front of me this day was going to be a long one, but that was nothing new for me. I’ve driven many miles and kilometres through all of the seasons and through every weather condition known to North American drivers. The forecast that day was for snow and winter storm conditions covering my entire trip plan. But that didn’t make me least bit nervous.

There was something else making me nervous, though. For, you see, I was headed for Idaho Falls, Idaho. And a rendezvous.

I met with a little bit of resistance at the US border. I was travelling with an expired passport that yet contained evidence of an expired US visa from my last short term work assignment in Texas.

The border officer in the booth, a polite young man, listened to my reasons for requesting entry to the US, took my passport and bade me come inside for follow up interrogation.

I parked my truck and went inside. And waited. I waited some more. After close to thirty minutes another border officer, this one a veteran and a woman, called me up to the counter. Presumably, she had run my identification through whatever systems to determine whether or not I represented a threat of some kind.

She had questions about my employment status.

“If I were to call your employer, would they confirm that you are still employed?”

“Yes.”

“When are you expected back at work?”

“Monday.”

“You are planning to go back to Canada after this trip, aren’t you?”

“Yes, of course.”

I don’t think she was completely satisfied, but she handed me back my passport and said, “Have a good trip.”

On the road again, I picked up the pace a bit to make up time. The roads weren’t too bad in spots, slushy in some places and snow covered in others. The worst white-out conditions only happened when the plume from a snowplow travelling in the opposite direction completely blinded me every now and then. I saw several truck and RV combinations in the ditches, figured it sucked to be them, and liked my truck even more.

The clouds cleared and the sun came out as I arrived in Idaho Falls around 4:30 that afternoon. I had time to shower, change and have a quick bite to eat before driving out to the Idaho Falls International Airport.

It was seven-ish when the flight I was awaiting arrived. A brief cell phone conversation followed as the plane taxi’d in. Minutes passed by and then passengers started coming through the gate area security doors.

Then I saw her. She raised her hand briefly, shyly, almost self-consciously, waving hello. My heart was racing as I first laid eyes upon this woman whom I was already in love with. Then she was in my arms, her lips on mine, this woman who would be my future.

Two years ago today.

Happy “Anniversary” Sweetie!

Responses

  1. This is beautiful. Wish I knew more of the story–like why she was flying in to Idaho Falls instead of where you lived–or why you didn’t fly to where she lived.

    It turned out well anyway–much happiness to you both.

    • Judy,

      Thank you. And thank you for stopping by and commenting.

      More of the story? Well, it was an evolution of things and if Ann doesn’t cover it in her memoir, then I shall fill in the gaps sometime. Promise!

  2. And then what happened? Huh? Huh?

    i think we’ve got an idea how the rest of this romantic comedy played out! Great story… well told…

  3. Oh that is just sweet, you big softie.
    See, dreams do come true.
    *squish*

  4. […] Rob commemorated the day with a post on his blog. Someone commented to the effect that she wished she knew more of our story. Some of our story is on my blog. Much of it is not. But here are a few links for the curious. […]

  5. What a great beginning to a novel–or a real-life love story!

  6. Apparently, they suspected you were coming down here to abscond with our hot women.


Leave a Reply

Categories

