Posted by: Rob | January 21, 2009

I Have a Confession

I have made many references to…well, okay… I have stated on many occasions that I do not watch television. And it’s pretty much a true statement. Despite the fact that we continue to subscribe to satellite television, I never plunk down on the sofa to watch any of the programming.

The ongoing subscription to Starchoice is largely for BabyD’s benefit. When she first arrived here, she would watch Treehouse, but she has outgrown that and now she likes to watch cartoons on Retro. But she is showing signs of boredom with that and is gravitating towards more live action fare broadcast on YTV or Family. Most of these shows, like iCarly, originate from the fine folks at Disney. (And when I say “fine”, I mean that with every ounce of sarcasm one can imbue the typewritten word with.)

But I digress. I haven’t always been a non-television watcher. The weekday evening routine used to include too much TV watching, really. Watched the entire second season of 24. Became hooked on CSI and it’s Miami and New York spin-offs. Dangerous Minds. And, of course, I was getting nearly all of my news from The Daily Show with Jon Stewart and, eventually, The Colbert Report.

I think the change to becoming a non-TV watcher started after my late wife died. I tried watching TV sometimes, but either the content was too difficult to watch (I really can’t do hospital deathbed scenes anymore) or my attention span just wasn’t sufficient to engage and stay engaged in the thin plots of most of my old stand-bys.

After re-marrying, I found there really wasn’t the time to watch TV. I suppose there was time, it was just that my prioritizing of the time available changed and other activities or interests supplanted the TV watching time.

The Daily Show remained a periodic watch but, ultimately, the writer’s strike killed my interest long enough to finally break the TV habit.

Now, that’s not to say that I don’t watch anything. Regular readers of annie’s blog know that we watch a lot of video. Movies mostly, but it seems we are catching up in whatever films we hadn’t seen, either old or new.

Recently, we’ve taken to perusing the DVD’s that we collectively own to see if there’s anything there that we can watch on my notebook PC as we lay in bed in the evening.

One such DVD is the complete first season of Showtime’s Weeds. Annie picked this up sometime before we met, but had never watched it. So, in a movie vacuum we pulled the cellophane off and started watching.

The first season has ten episodes. Each runs for about 30 minutes, so it makes for ideal viewing after going to bed but before going to sleep. That’s opposed to say starting up a 2 hour feature film at 9:30 or 10:00 pm when the next day is a work day.
The main story line is about a young widow (what else?) who takes to selling marijuana as a way to sustain her and her two son’s lifestyle after her husband dies.

It’s edgy drama but contains comedic elements as well (Kevin Nealon is a cast member) and makes some statements about suburbia that probably resonate with James Howard Kunstler.

Mary-Louise Parker portrays the young widow and while she often has a spaced out, almost vacuous look to her that is a bit disconcerting and annoying, it probably is a pretty accurate depiction of the shell shocked nature of being widowed young with young children.

We finished the first 10 episodes the other night and (here’s my confession) I liked it well enough that I had to order seasons 2 and 3 from Amazon. The shipment is on its way.

Responses

  1. Not having had cable for many years, I haven’t heard of the show. I think I’m slowly breaking my TV habit. I record shows, then never seem to have the time to watch them. When we go digital next month, I may go cold turkey. I’m sure I can find something else to do.

  2. Mary-Louise Parker is my pretend girlfriend. I saw her last year in a play. I sat in the second row and almost walked up on stage to give her a hug but I restrained myself. She’s about to open in Ibsen’s Hedda Gabler. Perhaps this time I won’t be able to control myself.

  3. Weeds is crack! Best show to come along in ages – and i’m not much of a tv watcher either, but it’s so good it must be the best show… Season 1 was big fun. Season 2? Crystal Meth and Crack all rolled up into a big ol’ TV spleef, man…

    oh, and Mary-Louise Parker is MY pretend girlfriend. We paint each others toes, drink bottles of scotch, eat popcorn and process life’s problems together.

  4. […] Rob pulled Weeds off the shelf recently, and we have been watching it a couple of episodes at a time. Each one is about 30 minutes which makes it perfect for nights we don’t want to invest in a feature length film, but still need to unwind a bit before sleep*. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

