Posted by: Rob | October 14, 2008

Respite

I have a confession.  I have apparerently mis-represented something.

I wrote recently about a “Red Letter Day” marking the beginning of long underwear wearing season.  Well, despite one killing frost the other night, the weather has been more or less on the mild side this last while.  And so I have not been wearing my long johns.

Oh, and for those who may have had some concerns about a “freeze” on intimacy over the long winter (especially concern for Annie), please rest assured that I do not sleep in long johns.  In fact, at the risk of being TMI, I don’t sleep in any night clothes at all.  Too confining.

The two week forecast trend for temperature here shows a definite cooling is in the works and so I fully expect to have re-incorporated long johns into my daily attire by Hallowe’en.

Responses

  1. I was more concerned with the state of sanitation. The way Annie posts about you, I had no fears for her happiness. Happy to hear they come off on a regular basis. And a lot of us old hippies don’t sleep in anything, and about choke to death if forced to, such as visiting relatives where you are stuck on the sleeper sofa in the living room. Damn.

  2. Old hippies and middle-aged hippies, and overly hippy hippies- none of us care to be confined and confounded by those infernal night-clothes…

  3. When I was in the marching band in high school (nerd alert!) I wore long johns under my uniform and still froze to death. But I was always weirdly excited to get to pull them out.

  4. I take a wonderful cocktail of seratonin uptake inhibitors (for my OCD) and blood pressure medicines (for, well, my blood pressure) that keep me from requiring long underwear in almost all situations. Of course, if I inhabited the Great White North, such as you, I may have to reconsider.


Leave a Reply

Categories

