Posted by: Rob | October 10, 2008

Red Letter Day

It was -6 °C this morning. I learned this when Ann returned to bed after getting up to go to the bathroom. That’s as cold as it has been yet for the autumn of 2008.

As I prepared to dress after showering, I eyed my closet and debated with myself. “Is today the day?” I decided that, yes, it was.

After putting BabyD on the school bus, we sat at the dining room table finishing up with breakfast while perusing blogs, news and e-mail.

I asked Ann, “Do you know what today is?”

Her expression was a mixture of confused and blank. After a few seconds, she replied, “The 10th?”

“Well, yes, it is the 10th. But that’s not what I meant.”

“It’s CB’s birthday?”

“Oh, is it? I didn’t know that. And, no, that’s not what I meant either.”

I could hardly contain myself. Of course she wouldn’t know what the hell I was talking about and so, as I could see from her expression that she was getting annoyed, I spilled it.

“Today’s the day I’ve put on my long underwear for the winter!”

“And they won’t come off ‘til spring, will they?”

“Nope.”

Responses

  1. Oh, that’s a really pleasant image. It made my tummy hurt.

  2. I know it’s cold up there in Canukistan, but I hope Rob has a couple of pairs, and will let you wash them. Otherwise, there might be problems. Of course, I think there are ways to persuade him to part with them for a few minutes.

  3. i used to live in a pair of bright red long johns (connected top/bottom)… woo hoo! i wonder if i can still find them! what color are yours? tie-dyed?

  4. […] wrote recently about a “Red Letter Day” marking the beginning of long underwear wearing season.  Well, despite one killing frost […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

