Posted by: Rob | August 13, 2008

Observed Dates; Dates of Remembrance

Widowhood is an experience like no other.  Until you are widowed, special days and dates are pretty much always meant to be celebrated.  Birthdays, anniversaries, even Hallmark holidays.  I’m sure there are many religion based days/dates of observance too, but as a secular humanist I don’t know any of them*.

Today is a date of observance and of remembrance too.  It is the occasion of what would have been the 9th wedding anniversary of Ann and Will.  Annie remembers it here.  I haven’t heard all of the stories of that day; a lot of it I’ve read in various of Annie’s blog posts.  I have seen the pictures though; some I see everyday as they are on display in BabyD’s room.

Neither Will nor Ann were paraskavedekatriaphobes** because in 1999, the year they married, August 13th fell on a Friday.

I’m not sure that you wish someone in our situation “Happy Anniversary”, but rather just send warm wishes for fond memories of happier times.  So, Annie, I’m sending you warm wishes for fond remembrance.

* Except for the ones I get off from work as “stat” holidays.

** Paraskavedekatriaphobia is the fear of Friday the 13th.

Responses

  1. *hugs* for Annie. A sad “special” day indeed

  2. can’t imagine how it feels… maybe a little warm, and a lot sad.

  3. Thanks baby.

  4. I KNOW she realizes how fortunate she is to have you in her life, but I want to remind her anyway. (((Annie)))) Many blessings, Rob


Leave a Reply

Categories

