Posted by: Rob | June 10, 2008

Answering the Monday Meme – June 10, 2008

Annie’s regular Monday meme for June 9, 2008 has asked us to share a song that has particular meaning for us.

While there are many, many songs that have meaning of one sort or another for me, I have chosen to share a song that spoke to me in the months after my late wife died. When she died, it was like a black curtain was drawn down covering my future. In essence, once she died I could see no future. There was no future for me without her.

But after some deep introspection and other related grief “work” and once I realized that the feeling of “the other shoe dropping” was just that – a feeling – I sensed that there could be a future for me. A different future than what had lain in store for me before, but a future none the less.

I also realized that whatever future I was going to have, I would have to work for it. Work toward it. I had to want it.

I read a bit about this song and, if I recall correctly, Maynard James Keenan wrote this in the aftermath of his mother’s death, which he reportedly took very hard. Recovering from grief, I suppose, is something that Maynard and I have in common.

A PERFECT CIRCLE LYRICS

“Gravity”

Lost again
Broken and weary
Unable to find my way
Tail in hand
Dizzy and clearly unable to
Just let this go

I am surrendering to the gravity and the unknown
Catch me heal me lift me back up to the sun
I choose to live

I fell again
Like a baby unable to stand on my own
Tail in hand
Dizzy and clearly unable to just let this go
High and surrendering to the gravity and the unknown
Catch me heal me lift me back up to the sun
I choose to live, I choose to live, I choose to live

Catch me heal me lift me back up to the sun
Help me survive the bottom

Calm these hands before they
Snare another pill and
Drive another nail down another
Needy hole please release me

I am surrendering to the gravity and the unknown
Catch me heal me lift me back up to the sun
I choose to live, I choose to live

Here’s a link to a youtube video of A Perfect Circle performing Gravity live:

Leave a Reply

Categories

